Skip to content

Green Tomato Chutney

August 27, 2010

I found that one of my tomato plants was diseased. The stems were deteriorating and the leaves discolouring. The persistent rain hasn’t helped matters either. So, I decided to rescue the fruit and make chutney, something I have been wanting to do for a long time. I found a green tomato recipe in my gardening idol, Alys Fowler’s book The Edible Garden. It smelt lovely whilst it was cooking and hope it is equally lovely when I eat it!

Luckily my other two tomato plants seem healthy enough. I was frightened that they had blight. I know that Alys has a lot of problems where she lives. Luckily not many people ‘grow their own’ in my area. Fingers crossed that’s the end of my tomato problems!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

